You are here

Bihar Legislative Assembly

Bihar Legislative Assembly


Legislative_AssemblyBihar Vidhan Sabha is also known as Bihar Legislative Assembly. It came into existence in 1937.The Assembly had a strength of 152 members. According to the provisions of the Constitution of India, the first General Elections in the state were held in 1952. The total strength of membership in the Assembly was 331, including one nominated member. It was reduced to 318 during the second General Elections. In 1977, the total number of elected members of the Bihar Legislative Assembly was further raised from 318 to 324. With the creation of a separate State of Jharkhand, by an Act of Parliament titled the Bihar Reorgnaisation Act, 2000, the strength of the Bihar Legislative Assembly was reduced from 325 to 243 members.


Bihar Legislative Assembly is not a permanent body and subject to dissolution. The tenure of the Legislative Assembly is five years from the date appointed for its first sitting unless dissolved sooner. Members of the Legislative assembly are directly elected by the people. There are three session ( Budget, Monsoon, Winter) every year.



Current Members

Click here! to know more information.